Collection: All Things Feng-Shui

Feng shui is an ancient Chinese philosophy that seeks to find balance and harmony between elements. Incorporating feng shui goes beyond Western design tenets of comfort or aesthetic. Instead it places emphasis on physical and mental health, success, and healthy relationships, which is brought on through positive energy flow.

Often referred to as the art of placement, in the simplest of terms feng shui is about positioning different elements to optimize “Chi,” or energy. The term is comprised of two words: “feng,” meaning wind and “shui,” meaning water. Not only are these two elements basic and vital to human existence, but they also move and flow around the world.

While the principles of feng shui apply to many elements of life, they are commonly practiced in interior design because the tools used in feng shui analysis can most easily be applied in the context of a home

Feng Shui Elements

 The five important elements of feng shui are wood, metal, earth, water, and fire.

The Bagua Map

The most common tool in feng shui home design is the bagua map. The bagua map helps analyze energy in a given space, and suggests what elements to bring into the space to enhance the flow. Each of the nine quadrants on the bagua map has an element and color associated with it, which can help inform your decor. The nine quadrants are Wealth, Fame, Love, Family, Health, Children, Wisdom, Career, and Helpful People.

Below, we show the Western interpretation of the map, but there is also a traditional map. The traditional map is defined by compass direction, which makes navigating it a bit more difficult for feng shui beginners. If you rather avoid using compasses, stick with the Western version and simply divide your floor plan into a grid.

Reference: invaluable. Com

No products found
Use fewer filters or remove all